Tight race to become World Series of Poker POY

WSOP sjetonger
Den 49. utgaven av World Series of Poker i Las Vegas sprengte en rekke rekorder i prestisjetunge og pengestinne main event.(Foto: youtube.com)

A whopping 90 bracelets have been awarded already, during the main part of World Series of Poker in Las Vegas this summer. The race to become the best of the best, Player of the Year, is tighter than ever. And the very top pro’s are fighting for the title!

From the 13th of October until the beginning of November we will have another fifteen events. World Series of Poker Europe will be held in King’s Casino in Rozvadov, just across from the German border, in the Czech Republic.

Double bracelet winner ahead of two rivals and an outsider

Robert Campbell leads this exiting race after the Las Vegas summer series. He got most of his points from his two wins during the summer. He startet well with two top 10 finishes before he won Event #33 $1500 2-7 Triple Draw. He then went on to secure another six cashes, for a total of eight. Five of those were top 10, and two wins. Campbell also won Event #67 $10,000 Seven Card Stud Hi-Lo Championship.

Behind Robert Cambell we find the two rivals Shaun Deeb and Daniel Negreanu. These two have been vocal on their differences on more than one occation in the past, and nothing would please either of them more than to beat the other. In anything, basically, they actually have a standig bet on whose marriage will end first, both beeing married recently.

Of the two rivals it’s Shaun Deeb that holds a slight lead before their journey to Europe. Deeb cashed an amazing sixteen times this summer, but won no bracelet. The story for Negreanu is very similar. He also got sixteen cashes, and both of them finished second as their best position.

Just a few points behind Negreanu we find Daniel Zack. He won Event #6 $2500 Mixed Triple Draw, and gathered another thirteen cashes.

These four players are the only players above 3000 points in the POY race so far. Phillip Hui, Jason Gooch, Joseph Cheong, David «ODB» Baker, the winner from 2017 Chris Ferguson and Anthony Zinno complete the top 10.

Here are the leaderboard for WSOP POY 2019

  1. 3418,78 – Robert Campbell
  2. 3280,13 – Shaun Deeb
  3. 3166,24 – Daniel Negreanu
  4. 3126,13 – Daniel Zack
  5. 2881,67 – Phillip Hui
  6. 2643,72 – Jason Gooch
  7. 2595,54 – Joseph Cheong
  8. 2480,06 – David «ODB» Baker
  9. 2476,96 – Chris Ferguson
  10. 2443,22 – Anthony Zinno
  11. 2420,54 – Jon «Pearljammer» Turner
  12. 2372,48 – Ismael Bojang
  13. 2368,02 – Scott Clements
  14. 2360,84 – Rick Alvarado
  15. 2359,27 – Ari Engel

See the full schedule for World Series of Poker Europe here.

Kjetil Flåten